Q. Talk to me about creating change in organizations, communities & nations and the impact of the Three Principles understanding in affecting change at this scale.

Short Answer: Change happens in conversations.

Long Answer: 

Organizations {or families or countries} are not static/stagnant collections of mechanical parts and moving pieces.

They are LIVING systems, made up of people. An organizational/group culture is made up of the moment by moment thoughts and interactions of the people in it.

Any stagnation {i.e. chronic problems} is a case of stagnant thinking and not a case of a stuck, hard to change organization. At any point, to change the system, understanding & affecting the quality of thinking of the people involved is the greatest leverage point.


We could have a long, multi-generational history of conflict between you and me. And yet, if we have friction between us, the conflict is held in place by you and me in this moment. It doesn’t really exist anywhere. We are either talking with history as a reference point or we are accessing the real-time intelligence and invitation to move forward in a helpful direction that is available to us in every moment.


People are capable of resolving very difficult things with a sense of grace, without aggression, with intelligence. So why do we not see that in a bigger scale? Why do we, even you and me who have seen this happen over and over again to our clients, think that on a bigger scale it’s something else?


Who makes policies? And does the quality of their thinking affect the policies they make or not?


We’ve gotten used to expecting that change comes from outside of people. So we go do team building exercises, motivational trainings, conflict resolution programs…In fact, as organizations, we will do everything EXCEPT try to directly understand and affect the mind of the person.

Most clients tell me they had assumed that’s either impossible, takes too long or is the realm of therapy.

With something as foundational as the Three Principles understanding we finally have a place to begin the conversation and a way to introduce true change into organizations.


When people say “I didn’t know where my feelings come from and now I do”, we’ve affected that aspect of a person. They’ve gone from the infinite variables and highly unreliable model of change {Outside-in} to a realization of constants that help them understand the totality of their experience and direct them to the only place from where real change can come.


The causal relationship between my thinking and the world that I see, and the me that I bring to bear on the world ….when I see that causal relationship…its the beginning of miracles for families, organizations and communities.


Join me in this conversation about change within oneself and the world around us by staying in touch here


This is Part II of my blog elaborating on the conversation with Lian Brook-Tyler on her podcast The Primal Happiness Show
{See Part I Here}
This post only covers till about Minute 20- another post at some point on the rest 🙂
You can listen to the full episode here

 

